Apropos of nothing – how far can you walk with your eyes shut ?

Geeky I admit, but this is a kind of dare game I’ve played for as long as I can remember. Walking along a road or across a field. How far can you walk with your eyes shut?

After the first 20 steps I always wonder how much of a straight line I’ve gone in – am I still on the centre of the road – or am I about to hit a hedge or wall? 25 steps, 30 steps – even in a field – wonder is there a hole i might fall in – a rock to fall over. I don’t believe, as much as I push myself, I can do more than 40 steps – anywhere – with my eyes shut – the fear of something out there waiting to trip me always wins out.

Then one glorious day I found Porth Neigwl beach at the end of the Llyn Peninsula in North Wales. An incredible long stretch of unbroken sand, a surfers paradise, but miles of emptiness the day I arrived. The temptation, was too great!. I closed my eyes and walked and walked – 800 steps – about half a mile without opening! I turned and ran back – sprinting another 100 with eyes closed.

World records shattered !!

It probably spoilt the game for all time – but there it stands – 800 steps – why didn’t i do the 1000 – i don’t know – maybe i just got bored of it in the end.

