So curiously.

Having managed to use quotations on the subject in my last two entries, today I find that Tate Britain has an exhibition just opened on Art and the Sublime

John Marin – The Great Day of His Wrath 1851–3

During the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, the sublime was associated in particular with the immensity or turbulence of Nature and human responses to it. Consequently, in Western art, ‘sublime’ landscapes and seascapes, especially those from the Romantic period, often represent towering mountain ranges, deep chasms, violent storms and seas, volcanic eruptions or avalanches which, if actually experienced, would be life threatening

As chance would have it I shall be making one of my rare forays to London next week, so this will be my destination after my meeting on Tuesday.

But fear not, the exhibition continues all year 

