So before anyone realises, I'll hold my hands up and declare that posting a whole sequence of graveyard photographs can't sustain a blo for long. Interesting or haunting as they may be, they are merely a diversion, and we have to get back down to business.

My excuse may be that I have spent the last few weeks, in between being very busy at work, re-reading The Mysteries of Udolpho. 670 pages of very small test takes its strain; but at the end it reminds me why perhaps the reputation of Mrs Radcliffe has, to some degree, survived the ravages of time whilts some of the other authors I have been reading lately fell into probably justified obscurity. She certainly leaves very few stones unturned in looking for thrills, shocks, horror and excitement. It was some years since I last read it right through, and this re-reading just served to remind me why i fell in love with it in the first place.

So, moving on, and back to something new,and possibly completely different  I have decided to pick up William Morris's The Well at the End of the World. Now I had never really associated Morris with novel writing, I'm not sure why not, but I have been lead to this through Stephanie Pina's excellent Pre-Raphaelite Reading Project   ( http://preraphaelitesisterhood.com/?page_id=1786 ). The title shows a remarkable coincidence in light of my current fascination with everything to do with sacred and healing wells. I'm not sure yet how it fits in, but hopefully there may be some cross-pollination of ideas here; we shall see.

It was Stephanie who first led me to Sidonia the Soceress (  http://why-lydia.livejournal.com/12428.html ) which wads the first book on her project list, and a very welcome addition to my gothic collection. Since then she has included The Arrow Chest, Le Morte d'Arthur and Mortal Love which I'm sorry to say, due to othe rcommitments, I have missed out on. Most so perhaps for Le Morter d'Arthur, which i am rather ashamed to say that I have never read, and really must get around to doing so soon.

So I have managed to find a pdf copy of The Well at the End of the World on the internet. Printing it out I was surprised by the font size. It runs to about 600 pages of rather large type. It looks much like one of those special books for the partially sighted, and taking it out on the train attracted a number of surprised and pitying looks. However, i shall persevere.

So onwards and upwards, so to speak.

