oh I am still here, just to let you know. I realise I have been very quiet lately, mainly because I am enthralled in Charles Palliser's The Quincunx, a massive beast of a book that is taking all of my time to get through.

Currently on page 700 of 1200, I hope to finish by the end of the month.

Published in 1985, the Quincunx is a pastiche of the great nineteenth century novel, out-dickensing Dickens with its wealth of characters and out-collinsing Collins with its complexity of plot It makes the train journeys morning and evening fly by, so is well recommended.

It does mean, however, that my trawl through the muddier realms of the gothic is suffering. Hopefully in April normal reading will be resumed.

I have also been spending quite a while researching and visiting locations for my Welsh Wells blog http://wellhopper.wordpress.com/

I leave you with an angel I found in Gresford churchyard whilst tracking down yet another well.

